Forever Plus

I am a snob. I say that a bit tongue-in-cheek but really I can be quite bourgeois about a lot of things. I don’t know when or how it happened. It’s not like I grew up with money, far from it, but the older I get the more I realize I can be a bit intolerant of certain things. For instance, I just don’t understand why grown people are walking around wearing sweat pants. Unacceptable.  I don’t wear gym shoes unless I ‘m at the gym; which is never.  And it’s been very recently brought to attention that, though born and raised on American soil, I spell a great many things as if I wasn’t (theatre, neighbour, etc.).  Yeah…

That said I’m not all that uppity about art. At least I don’t think I am. I mean, yeah, I went to an art school so I can discuss art intellectually with the best of them (maybe not the BEST of them ha) but I only have one criterion when it comes to a piece: does it speak to me? This is true of a lot of things really, not just art but music (country or rap), books (romance or non-fictional), recreation (theatre or whirly ball). All of this to say I really like Molly Roth.

I recently took a photography class at Lill Street Art Center (http://lillstreet.com/) in Chicago. This place is GREAT.

They give art classes and photography class in a really cool, old Chicago-style building. They put student work up on the walls (seriously talented students in this piece yo), they have a small gallery space called the Gallery Annex, and a super cool shop space complete with a cute café. Anyhoo, it was in great place that I saw an Annex exhibit called Forever Plus (http://lillstreetgallery.com/annex/forever-plus/) by the super talented and equally delightful Molly Roth.

The Annex is small. Super small and Molly really only has space to put three pieces but man OH MAN! I was immediately hooked. This is the first piece I saw when I received the email from Lill Street inviting me to the exhibit:MollyRoth_header

And I was all, “WHAT THE WHAT?!” (P.S. I didn’t take this pic) I didn’t even know what I was looking at. All I knew is it was beautiful. Full of movement and hot pink. HOT PINK?! HOT DAMN! So I got Mandy and my friend Chorine to come with me to see some more. I was NOT disappointed. 

special“Special”

magician“The Magician”

magician 1

magician2

Check out that close up. Am I right? Or AM I RIGHT?! Stay tuned for Part 2 wherein I convince Molly to drink with me and then we talk, at length, about ribbons.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

