I once dreamt …

I owned a cupcake boutique in my hometown. Who doesn’t love a cupcake?!  I would want something similar to Molly’s Cupcakes. It’s a cute little spot in Chicago, with a homey feel and they have swings you can sit on while you eat your cupcake!

mmmmmmmm

mmmmmmmm

Photo compliments of a fellow blogger! Click pic to visit Flying Cupcake!

Photo compliments of a fellow blogger! Click pic to visit Flying Cupcake!

Cupcake boutiques are thriving in major cities, but one hasn’t yet made it to Kankakee. They have a few bakeries that have cupcakes, but definitely no cupcake boutiques. I think this is something that would thrive and I could carry on a longtime tradition in my family, of owning a local business in town. In 1939 my great grandfather opened a grocery store in town, called Chouinard’s Grocery, which he then passed on to my grandfather. Across the street from the grocery store my great uncle opened up a restaurant called Blues Café, which is still open today!  Not only would I like to carry on this tradition, but it would be awesome to get my family involved in the business! I imagine them helping me come up with fun cupcake names, my Uncle Andy business tips, and my grandma telling me a few of her baking secrets. This would give me an opportunity to design and brand my own space, all the while keeping family tradition alive and having a reason to spend time with them!

Here's my grandma, Mom, and Aunt Cindy in front of the grocery store!

Here’s my grandma, Mom, and Aunt Cindy in front of the grocery store!

And then there’s my dream of being an urban planner … I think it would be fabulous to spend my days focusing on the areas in the world that need help and taking the time to figure out how to make them more environmentally friendly, how to create more jobs, and make a city or town feel more like a community. I’m ALL about bringing people together!

I hope you enjoyed hearing about all of our dream jobs! I think it’s a possibility that we can all attain at least one of them some day!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

