G is For Gorey

Chicago2014

 

Originally, I was going to write a post on spring cleaning, but after an amazing weekend in Chicago I think I will save it for a rainy day. It is hard to believe that it has been 7 years since moving to Chicago and a mere 3 years since we moving to Toronto. Not a single day passes where I do not find myself missing it a little bit. This weekend  was jam-packed full of food, friends and fun galore! I  met up with my co-writters Britany and Mandy for long luxurious brunch on the patio Saturday. Caught up in the excitement I don’t think we actually discussed any Chic | Toro business. But I digress…

 

Chictoro.girls

 

 

What I really want to write about is an amazing exhibit I “accidentally” came across “Elegant Enigmas: The Art of Edward Gorey” and “G is For Gorey – C is For Chicago” at the Loyola University Museum of Art. How could I possibly pass up an exhibit about one of my most beloved writer, poet and illustrators, Edward Gorey.

A Quick Bio:

Born in Chicago and made famous by the PBS television series Mystery! for its opening animation, his dark writing style and unique illustrations have influenced many writers, artists and directors, most notably: Tim Burton (The Nightmare Before Christmas) and the children’s author Lemony Sniket (A Series of Unfortunate Events).

 

Edward Gorey

 

The first half  of the exhibition (The Elegant Enigmas) covers my most favourite of his works, the not-so-child-friendly alphabet book, The Gashlycrumb Tinies. It is “part Tim Burton long before there was Burton, part Edgar Allen Poe long after“. Gorey  illustrates the untimely demise of children while coordinating their names to letters of the alphabet.  My personal favourites are, J is for James who took lye by mistake and N is for Neville who died of Ennui.

 

gashlycrumb

neville

 

The second half (G is for Gorey…) is more biographical, delving into the various mediums and styles he enjoyed working in. A great number of these pieces were originally created just for the Thomas Michalak collection. I was rushed for time towards the end and did not take the time needed to truly engross myself in the second half as much as I want to too.

If you find yourself on Michigan Avenue with some time to spare, this is a must see exhibit. It’s only $8 to get in and it’s free on Tuesdays.

Hope you get a chance to check it out.

Cheers – Carrie

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

